Ownership migration policies
PlayFab Lobby provides a set of pre-defined policies to allow a title to control how lobby ownership migrates if the current owner leaves or is disconnected. This policy is configured when the lobby is created and can’t be changed. This table describes each ownerMigrationPolicy.Proactive ownership changes
Some game scenarios may require ownership to proactively transfer from the current owner to a new owner. This table describes how proactive ownership changes are affected by the ownerMigrationPolicy.Extra guidance for server owners
- Any server authorized for the title may take over the ownership of any server-owned lobby authorized for that title. The Lobby service doesn’t protect ownership between game servers for the same title.
- Server-owned lobbies are hidden when the server-owner is disconnected.
Frequently asked questions
When is the owner field cleared?
The owner field is cleared when the current owner leaves the lobby and the owner migration policy is unable to select a new owner. Automatic migration policy is the only policy that tries to automatically select a new owner. NOTE: The owner field is not cleared when the owner disconnects and a new owner can’t be automatically selected. This is intentional to be robust to service outages.What happens when the last member leaves the lobby?
- For client-owned lobby, the lobby is always deleted when the last member leaves.
- For server-owned lobby, no action is taken.
